STOP-FSGS

Speed Translation-Oriented Progress to Treat FSGS

Idiopathic (primary) FSGS is a rare disease affecting an estimated 2,000 people in Germany. Its secondary form represents a major cause for irreversible loss of renal function and life-long need for dialysis or transplantation.

continue

CONNECT-GENERATE

German Network for Research on Autoimmune Encephalitis

The research network CONNECT-GENERATE aims at improving the diagnosis and treatment of people with autoimmune encephalitis, a rare but treatable form of brain inflammation.

continue

HiChol

Translational network for Hereditary Intrahepatic Cholestasis

Defective bile formation is referred to as cholestasis and can be caused by mutations in genes important for bile formation in the liver. Cholestasis as result of genetic variants is referred to as hereditary intrahepatic cholestasis and comprises a heterogeneous group of rare disorders.

continue

Treat-ION

New Therapies for Neurological Ion Channel and Transporter Disorders

Treat-ION represents a network of clinicians and scientists across Germany to advance the knowledge about recognizing and treating rare neurological ion channel and transporter disorders. Those comprise a variety of neuropsychiatric diseases and symptoms including developmental delay, epilepsy, episodic and chronic ataxia, migraine and others.

continue

MyPred

Network for young individuals with syndromes predisposing to myeloid malignancies

During the last decade, an increasing number of novel genetic disorders with predisposition to myeloid malignancy in young individuals has been identified. Like the inherited bone marrow failure syndromes, some of these disorders are associated with other organ dysfunction.

continue

TreatHSP.net

Translational research on Hereditary Spastic Paraplegias

Hereditary Spastic Paraplegias (HSP) are clinically and genetically highly heterogeneous neurodegenerative disorders primarily affecting the long axons of the corticospinal tract, leading to progressive lower limb spasticity and weakness.

continue

NEOCYST

Network of Early Onset Cystic Kidney Disease

Hereditary cystic kidney diseases are among the most common causes of chronic renal failure in children. As a multidisciplinary network of clinicians, geneticists and basic scientific researchers, NEOCYST is dedicated to the comprehensive research and improved care of patients.

continue

GAIN

German network for multi-organ autoimmune diseases

Multi-organ autoimmune diseases belong to the “ultra-rare” disorders and have only recently been recognized being caused by monogenetic mutations in immune-regulatory genes. Patients are typically characterized by multi-organ inflammation

continue

ADDRess

Translational Research for Persons with Abnormal DNA Damage Response

Disorders with Abnormal DNA Damage Response (DADDR) are rare genetic conditions with impaired DNA repair or maintenance. A shared feature among affected individuals is a strongly increased cancer risk. Treatment is commonly complicated due to the underlying genetic defect.

continue

Translational research on rare diseases

Many of the approximately 8000 rare diseases are still poorly understood. For this reason, research projects in the field of rare diseases are working together at many different locations in Germany and with international partners to jointly improve diagnostics and develop new therapies. The aim is to translate promising scientific findings into clinical application in order to improve the care situation for people with rare diseases. In this translational research approach, the patient side is included in the planning and implementation.

The Research for Rare networks have been funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) since 2003.


Following the 12th ECRD (15 -16 May 2024), you can help to shape the future of rare diseases in Europe by signing the open letter to create a solid legacy for the future EU rare disease policy.


SAVE THE DATE: R4R – YOUNG RESEARCHERS WORKSHOP  — 24/25 March 2025

Website Symposium: The Translational Science of Rare Diseases – From Rare to Care IV
3 – 5 May 2023, Evangelische Akademie Tutzing
programme booklet

For current information and calls please see German version of the site

Treat-ION

Neue Therapien für neurologische Ionenkanal- und Transporterstörungen

Neurologische Ionenkanal- und Transportererkrankungen (NICATD) umfassen eine Vielzahl von seltenen neuropsychiatrischen Erkrankungen. Bekannte Ionenkanalerkrankungen sind beispielsweise Skelettmuskelerkrankungen, zentralnervöse Erregungsstörungen und kardiale Arrhythmien.

Weiterlesen

TreatHSP.net

Translationale Forschung zur hereditären spastischen Paraplegie

Hereditäre spastische Paraplegien (HSP), auch hereditäre spastische Spinalparalysen genannt, sind eine heterogene Gruppe genetisch bedingter neurodegenerativer Erkrankungen. Betroffen sind vor allem die langen Axone des Kortikospinaltrakts, was sich durch Symptome wie eine zunehmende spastische Lähmung und Schwäche der unteren Extremitäten zeigt.

Weiterlesen

GAIN

Netzwerk für Multi-Organ-Autoimmunerkrankungen

Autoimmunkrankheiten, die mehrere Organe betreffen, gehören zu den äußerst seltenen Erkrankungen. Hierbei greift das körpereigene Immunsystem fälschlicherweise die eigenen Organe an. Bei den Betroffenen entwickelt sich daraufhin eine Entzündung mehrerer Organe, zum Beispiel von Knochenmark, Darm, Lunge, Nieren, Haut und Nervensystem.

Weiterlesen

CONNECT-GENERATE

Forschungsverbund für autoimmune Enzephalitiden

Bei den autoimmunen Enzephalitiden (auch Antikörper-assoziierte autoimmune Enzephalitiden) handelt es sich um selten auftretende Formen von Hirnentzündungen, die vorwiegend die graue Substanz des zentralen Nervensystems betreffen. Diese Erkrankungen führen bei Betroffenen zu epileptischen Anfällen, Bewegungs- und Koordinationsstörungen sowie zu neurokognitiven und psychiatrischen Störungen.

Weiterlesen

STOP-FSGS

Forschungsverbund für die seltene Nierenerkrankung primäre fokal-segmentale Glomerulosklerose

Die primäre (idiopathische) FSGS ist eine seltene Erkrankung der Niere, von der schätzungsweise 2.000 Menschen in Deutschland betroffen sind. Eine Unterscheidung zwischen der primären und der weitaus häufigeren sekundären Form ist oft schwierig, aber hinsichtlich der Therapie von großer Bedeutung.

Weiterlesen

ADDRess

Netzwerk für Erkrankungen mit gestörter DNA-Reparatur

Erkrankungen mit gestörter DNA Reparatur sind auch unter dem englischen Begriff „Disorders with Abnormal DNA Damage Response/Repair“ (DADDR) bekannt. Zu diesen seltenen aber schweren Krankheiten kommt es, wenn auftretende Schäden am Erbgut nicht durch körpereigene Zellen repariert werden können.

Weiterlesen

HiChol

Netzwerk für hereditäre intrahepatische Cholestasen

Als Cholestase bezeichnet man eine Störung der Gallebildung oder der Gallesekretion aus der Leber in den Darm. Neben erworbenen Ursachen können angeborene (hereditäre), genetische Veränderungen, die für die Gallebildung in der Leber von Bedeutung sind, einer Cholestase zugrunde liegen.

Weiterlesen

MyPred

Netzwerk für junge Menschen mit Prädisposition für myeloische Neoplasien

Unter der Bezeichnung myeloische Neoplasien werden hier die myeloische Leukämie und das myelodysplastische Syndrom (MDS) zusammengefasst. Dabei handelt es sich um bestimmte Krebserkrankungen, die von den Knochenmarkszellen ausgehen und meistens im Kindes- und Jugendalter auftreten.

Weiterlesen

NEOCYST

Netzwerk für frühkindliche zystische Nierenerkrankungen

Bei den angeborenen zystischen Nierenerkrankungen handelt es sich um langsam fortschreitende Krankheiten, die vor allem die Nieren betreffen, aber auch auf andere Organe übergehen können. Die Ursache liegt in vererbbaren Mutationen in sogenannten Zystengenen.

Weiterlesen

Translationsorientierte Forschung zu seltenen Erkrankungen

Viele der rund 8.000 seltenen Erkrankungen sind noch unzureichend erforscht. Daher arbeiten Forschungsprojekte im Bereich der seltenen Erkrankungen an vielen verschiedenen Standorten in Deutschland und mit internationalen Partnern zusammen, um gemeinsam die Diagnostik zu verbessern und neue Therapien zu entwickeln. Ziel ist es, vielversprechende wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse in die klinische Anwendung zu überführen, um eine verbesserte Versorgungssituation für Menschen mit seltenen Erkrankungen zu schaffen. Bei diesem Ansatz der translationalen Forschung wird die Patientenselbsthilfe bei der Konzeptentwicklung einbezogen.

Die Research for Rare Forschungsverbünde werden seit 2003 vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördert.


Following the 12th ECRD (15 -16 May 2024), you can help to shape the future of rare diseases in Europe by signing the open letter to create a solid legacy for the future EU rare disease policy.

Ergebnisbroschüre der NAKSE 28./29.09.2023 


SAVE THE DATE: R4R – YOUNG RESEARCHERS WORKSHOP — 24./25.März 2025

R4R Newsletter Nr. 16 – Februar 2024

Die Forscherin Dr. Johanna Krüger (Treat-ION) über seltene Varianten eines Epilepsie auslösenden Gens
In: Gesichter der Gesundheitsforschung, BMBF, 22.03.2024

Der Code des Lebens – der GHGA-Wissenschaftspodcast:
„Die Autokorrektur der DNA – Was passiert, wenn die Rechtschreibprüfung der DNA nicht funktioniert?“
Interview mit Prof. Christian Kratz, ADDRess, 02.01.2024

„Diagnose Odyssee – der lange Weg der seltenen Erkrankungen“ (am Beispiel der Krankheit HSP)
Interview mit Prof. Rebecca Schüle, TreatHSP.net & Patient Uwe Großkinsky, 03.10.2023

Website: Internationales Symposium 2023 „The Translational Science of Rare Diseases – From Rare to Care IV“

Weitere Informationen und Ausschreibungen: